Science Fiction

Teslapunk
Mad Science InstituteThis book kicks off the Mad Science Institute trilogy. It is followed by The Non-Zombie Apocalypse and Ghost Storm. Also available is a short story collection: Three Weeks Before Doomsday.

Sophia “Soap” Lazarcheck is a girl genius with a knack for making robots—and for making robots explode. After her talents earn her admission into a secretive university institute, she is swiftly drawn into a conspiracy more than a century in the making. Meanwhile and without her knowledge, her cousin Dean wages a two-fisted war of vengeance against a villainous genius and his unwashed minions. Separately, the cousins must pit themselves against murderous thugs, experimental weaponry, lizard monsters, and a nefarious doomsday device. When their paths finally meet up, they will need to risk everything to prevent a mysterious technology from bringing civilization to a sudden and very messy end.

For fans of Scott Westerfeld, Orson Scott Card, and Neal Stephenson.

Steampunk
First LightFirst in the completed Dawn of Steam trilogy, First Light is followed by Gods of the Sun and Rising Suns.

First Light’s eBook is only 99 cents.

In 1815, in the aftermath of the Napoleonic Wars, two of England’s wealthiest lords place a high-stakes wager on whether a popular set of books, which claim that the author has traveled to many unknown corners of the globe, are truth or, more likely, wild fiction. First Light is an epistolary novel, told primarily through the eyes of former aide-de-camp Gregory Conan Watts, describing the journeys of the airship Dame Fortuna and its crew through journals and letters to his beloved fiancee.

The first recruit is, necessarily, the airship’s owner: war hero, famed genius, and literal knight in steam-powered armor Sir James Coltrane. Persuading him to lend his talents and refitted airship to the venture requires bringing along his sister, his cousin, and the crew that flew with him during the Napoleonic Wars. Only with their aid can they track down a Scottish rifleman, a pair of shady carnies, and a guide with a strong personal investment in the stories.

When they set out, the wild places of the world, including the far American West, the Australian interior, darkest Africa, and other destinations are thought to be hostile enough. No one expects the trip to involve a legendary storm – or the Year Without a Summer of 1815-1816. The voyage is further complicated by the human element. Some parties are not at all happy with the post-war political map. Most problematic of all, the crew hired by the other side of the wager seem willing to win by any means necessary.

Also available for Nook

TheGirlandtheClockworkCat-NikkiMcCormack-500x750[2]

The Girl and the Clockwork Cat begins an award-winning adventure series that continues with The Girl and the Clockwork Conspiracy.

Grand Prize Winner, 2015 Dante Rossetti Award for young adult fiction.
 
Feisty teenage thief Maeko and her maybe-more-than-friend Chaff have scraped out an existence in Victorian London’s gritty streets, but after a near-disastrous heist leads her to a mysterious clockwork cat and two dead bodies, she’s thrust into a murder mystery that may cost her everything she holds dear.
 
Her only allies are Chaff, the cat, and Ash, the son of the only murder suspect, who offers her enough money to finally get off the streets if she’ll help him find the real killer.
 
What starts as a simple search ultimately reveals a conspiracy stretching across the entire city. And as Maeko and Chaff discover feelings for each other neither was prepared to admit, she’s forced to choose whether she’ll stay with him or finally escape the life of a street rat. But with danger closing in around them, the only way any of them will get out of this alive is if all of them work together.

Cyberpunk
Darkside Seattle presents a dark, grim view of the near future. The West America government mandates that everyone gets a cranial implant to access the new, improved internet, and modifying it is a federal crime. Not that the threat of time in the Auburn Detention Facility has ever stopped the truly motivated.

This collection of novellas kicks off with Street Doc, a story about a man who hasn’t figured out he’s not the hero of his own story. The second installment, Fixer, isn’t a sequel, and the stories can be read in any order. Watch for the third installment coming soon, Mechanic.

Street Doc and Fixer are available in Kindle Unlimited.

Superheroes
Dragons in PiecesDragons In Pieces kicks off a completed conspiracy/thriller trilogy also including Dragons In Chains and Dragons In Flight. The entire trilogy is also available as an omnibus edition.

Dragons In Pieces’s eBook is only 99 cents. Superheroes In Denim is available in Kindle Unlimited.

All Bobby wants is a girl to come home to after a hard day of work. Like the last one said before she left, he’s going exactly two places –no and where–and he’s happy with that. But somebody has other plans for him. A murder. The Terrorist Watch List. For what? Underage drinking? Things couldn’t possibly get worse. Right?

Oh yes, they can.

A lot.

He wouldn’t believe superheroes were real if he wasn’t one himself.

Tiny robot dragons send him chasing his humanity and his future, on the trail to discovering his past and a place to call ‘home’. If he’s lucky, maybe he can get a beer there.

Also available on Nook and Kobo

Dystopian
Mina CortezMina Cortez is a standalone novel set in a disturbing future.

She’d never said, “I want to join the Secret Police when I grow up.”

Of course, Mina Cortez hadn’t known there were secret police. She just knew she’d rather be a ballerina than a florist. But in 2154, though the world has mostly recovered from the supervolcano, vocational education is still programmed based on aptitude testing. An implanted skill chip can give the recipient many things, but not longer legs. So Mina fully expected to end up inheriting her family’s flower shop and landscaping business someday.

Like three generations before her, she had the nose for it.

She didn’t expect one of her best friends to be kidnapped. She didn’t expect to be inducted into a covert organization by desperate authorities. She didn’t expect to have to be grateful for her other best friend’s ‘undead’ Chevy. She didn’t expect programmed spy information to come with the taste of aluminum on her tongue — or a burning sensation when she fought its impulses. She didn’t expect fights, car chases, family secrets, bureaucrats acting as espionage cheerleaders, electro-magnetic pulses, or the frequent scent of gun oil.

She definitely didn’t expect to still have to deliver flowers while figuring it all out.

Also available on Nook

Advertisements